Safeguarding declaration

Safeguarding is firmly embedded in the core duties of all organisations across the Kent and Medway health system. All organisations are required to meet statutory responsibilities for safeguarding which include making sure there is clear leadership and lines of accountability, having appropriate policies and procedures, providing safeguarding training and working in partnership with relevant agencies to protect children and adults at risk of harm. 

Fundamentally, it remains the responsibility of every NHS-funded organisation, and each individual healthcare professional working in the NHS, to ensure the principles and duties of safeguarding children and adults are holistically and consistently applied and that the well-being of those children and adults is at the heart of all we do. 

We are committed to ensuring safeguarding is a high priority at all levels of the organisation. As a commissioner, Kent and Medway Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) has a responsibility to commission safe services and to be assured that providers are delivering on their safeguarding responsibilities. 

To achieve this, there are robust arrangements in place to provide strong leadership:

  • There is a clear line of accountability for safeguarding in the CCG. 
  • An accountable officer and an executive lead for safeguarding are in place.
  • Responsibility for safeguarding children and vulnerable adults sits within the portfolio of the Chief Nurse.
  • Designated professionals provide expertise on safeguarding to the CCG and the health economy. The team reports to the Head of Safeguarding and provides safeguarding advice, training and support to providers. They also provide assurance on safeguarding statutory responsibilities.
  • The Executive Lead, Head of Safeguarding and the designated professionals are part of the Kent and Medway safeguarding multi-agency arrangements for children and the Kent and Medway Safeguarding Adult Board.

All eligible CCG colleagues are required to complete a disclosure and barring service (DBS) check. Enhanced level checks are also carried out where appropriate and where safeguarding responsibilities are included in the employee’s job description.

NHS Kent and Medway Clinical Commissioning Group is committed to partnership working and is a key member of the Kent and Medway safeguarding children multi-agency partnership boards and the Kent and Medway Safeguarding Adult Board.   

Area Children's designated professional Adult's designated professional Named GP for safeguarding
East Kent

Anne Akamo
Anne.Akamo@nhs.net
07785 659850

Sheridan Morrison
sheridanmorrison@nhs.net
07920 246898

Jayne Chidgey-Clark
j.chidgey-clark@nhs.net
07741 629353

Lisa Lane
lisa.lane@nhs.net
07789 397961

Dr Lynne Wright
lynne.wright2@nhs.net
Monday and Wednesday
07554 333290

Medway and Swale

Pauline Grieve​​​​​​
pauline.grieve@nhs.net 07739 631418

Mary Mason​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​Mary.mason1@nhs.net
07825 387834

Caroline Peters​​​​​​​caroline.peters@nhs.net
07557 607563

Kathy Abbott​​​​​​​k.abbott3@nhs.net
07769 160526

Dr Gaurav Asal
g.asal@nhs.net

Dr Hannah Newens​​​​​​​ Hannah.newens@nhs.net
07834 55463

North Kent

Pauline Grieve​​​​​​​pauline.grieve@nhs.net
07739 631418

Caroline Peters
caroline.peters@nhs.net
07557 607563

Dr Gaurav Asal
g.asal@nhs.net

West Kent

Jennie Green​​​​​​​jenniegreen@nhs.net
07384 875935

Clare Bright
c.bright2@nhs.net 
07721 114387

Dr Reshma Rajagopal​​​​​​​Reshmarajagopal@nhs.net
07818 538385

Text Size:

Contrast: